Pre-NaNoWriMo Writer’s Block

Worst. Timing. Ever.

It is officially 3 days until the beginning of NaNoWriMo 2015 and I am sitting with half of a hole-filled plot and absolutely no idea how I want to end my story. The characters are in my mind, but everything else just seems to be falling to pieces around me. Commencing freakout now.

The wonderfully ill-timed writer’s block has struck me again, though this time it’s decided to hit before I’ve even written a word down. Now I know that this is probably a sign I need to completely re-work my story idea and that would be totally cool if it wasn’t that NaNo was in 3 DAYS!

What do I do? Stick with this terrible plot and just try to grin and bear it through the 30 days? Ditch it and plot something entirely new? Re-write and edit an old story that’s been sitting collecting dust for a year or two? Fly by the seat of my pants and attempt to write 50,000 words with nothing to go on?

As much as I hate to admit it, all of these options are serious things I’m considering right now. I just don’t have much more time to figure it out. For the past four years I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo I’ve never had a problem coming up with something to write about and then putting down a detailed story plot and outline. This year is something entirely out of the ordinary for me and it’s freaking me out. I know that I haven’t had a ton of time this year to dedicate myself to writing, but I did manage to write 10,000+ words for Camp NaNo this year, so that has to count for something, right? I still have the creativity in me somewhere, right?

I hope that all you other NaNo writers are having more luck than me in the story-plotting area. Depending on if I can figure out something to write for Novemeber, this may be the last entry I write until it’s done. If I’m back on here again before the end of next month, you’ll know I most likely wasn’t successful.

Happy writing, Wrimos (and other writers who aren’t completely crazy)! See you in December and no sooner (hopefully).

Leave a Reply

