Camp NaNoWriMo

As my title suggests, I’m going to talk about Camp NaNoWriMo, a summer-y (sort of) version of NaNoWriMo that happened in April and July of every year.

I have to say, in a lot of ways I actually prefer Camp NaNo to November NaNo. One of the major differences between them is the ability to set your own writing word count goal. Though I enjoy the challenge a 50 000 word goal gives me during NaNo, it is nice to have a more leisurely time writing in the months of April and July – months that in the past have been quite busy for me with final exams and intense summer job hours. Having a smaller word goal also allows for writers to focus on what it is they’re actually writing, as opposed to NaNo where a writer is literally trying to just get words out onto the page to make word count for the day. I like this aspect of Camp NaNo, and I don’t think it’s just because I’m one of those writers that has a problem leaving something alone that I know isn’t completely right. I feel like the quality of my writing drastically improves during the Camp NaNo sessions – which it should.

The other HUGE thing about Camp NaNo which I LOVE is the choice it gives you when you’re setting up your project and adding to your word count. Camp NaNo allows for revision to count as words. I believe it’s every hour you work at solid editing, it counts for a thousand words. Technically you could use this format for NaNoWriMo as well, but it’s definitely not recommended. See, NaNoWriMo is designed solely for writing a novel in 30 days – there isn’t an option to use NaNo as an official revision period. Camp NaNo, on the other hand, allows for your project to be listed as a revision of a previously written piece.

For me, both of these tools specific to Camp NaNo really helped me this past month – and all the other Camp sessions I’ve completed and participated in over the past few years. I was able to set my word count goal for something that I think is manageable for me to complete in the varying busy-ness of my Aprils and Julys, but I could also do an entire revision project for a session, or a partial revision and partial writing project too. The variety Camp NaNo provides is something I love, and if you haven’t tried writing during one of their two sessions per year, I highly recommend you do so.

As always, everyone, keep writing and we’ll talk soon!

Until next time.

 

3 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: Why Pinterest May Be The Greatest Website For Writers: Part 2 | Another Day in the Life of a Writer

  2. This is my first time doing Camp NaNoWriMo but I had no idea about the editing part. I wrote a post on it as well but didn’t touch on the differences between Camp NaNoWriMo and the normal November event.
    Thanks for posting!

  3. Pingback: Writing Distractions and How to Deal With Them | Another Day in the Life of a Writer

Leave a Reply

