Writing Software Worth Investing In: Scrivener

Two months ago I blew the dust off of an old manuscript from NaNoWriMo 2014. I’d dabbled with it throughout the past year, but had set it aside for the latter part to focus on the 2016 version of NaNo and finishing up another old project. So come January, there I sat with an eighty-four thousand word unfinished manuscript. At first, the writing process went great, but I soon realized that one of my main characters was asking me for a pet. I had to oblige, but that meant I needed to go and add in a dog to so many scenes. This was going to be a huge undertaking.

Enter the writing software, Scrivener.

As writers, I’m sure many of you have heard of Scrivener, but in case you haven’t, I’d like to tell you how Scrivener most definitely saved my life… errrr, well… writing life at least.

Scrivener is a glorious writing software designed to help frazzled people like me get organized with their writing. Everything that Scrivener does can be boiled down to compartmentalizing. In other words, it basically takes a very large jumbled mess of a text and breaks it down into smaller, more manageable chunks.

For me and my manuscript’s pet problem, this helped immensely.

scrivener-manuscript-details

Scrivener’s detailed manuscript options

Let’s say you have a novel. Well that novel is going to be broken down into chapters, right? Easy. Scrivener can do that. But let’s say within those chapters, you’ve got point of view changes, or jumps in time between different scenes. Well, Scrivener can also do that. You can customize your manuscript to have as many scenes within a chapter, all while having them in a separate file so they can be easily navigated through. The best part about this? Every single bit of your manuscript is in the same document. Goodbye alt-tab window-flipping.

 

This doesn’t work for you? No problem. Click on the Manuscript function in the sidebar and you get another version of manuscript organization, though this time it’s on a traditional, more old school looking corkboard.

 

With the corkboard, you’re given different options than the sidebar. First of all, if you’ve set it up you can view the status of each of the files and folders within your whole document. Some of the options? First Draft. To Do. Revised Draft. Done. All of these are tools you can use to help keep your manuscript organized and up to date with current achievements.

Another cool feature? You can use what Scrivener calls labels to give unique markers to each of your file and folders. This shows up in the right corner of each corkboard note. Each label has it’s own distinct colour. Green for chapter, orange for notes, blue for scene, yellow for idea, and red for character notes.

scrivener-corkboard-variation

Scrivener’s corkboard: the hub of all your folders and files

As you can see, for my specific project I currently only am using the chapters label, but you honestly can’t believe how helpful some of the other options were during the writing process. All of these labels and status options made the construction of my manuscript much simpler.

So, how did this help me when I needed to go back and insert a dog into various chapters? Well by working in this program earlier, I was able to use the folders and files to split up my novel by important events and character point of views. When it came time that I needed to go back to old chapters, finding them was a breeze. If I’d been using just a normal word processing document, I would have wasted so much more of my writing time trying to figure out where my chapter breaks were. It would have taken me a lot longer to complete my draft. Of course, it also helped that I’m able to write on each of the notes signifying files. I used this space to write a quick summary of key points that happen during each chapter. Does that ever help when you’re scanning through for certain moments.

The label and status features Scrivener offers was a time-saver as well. Since you’re able to write on each of the little notes, I had no problem locating the chapters requiring my newly acquired pet. Marking them as a To Do was as simple as right-clicking on my mouse and selection the option from the drop down menu.

I’ve only just really begun to utilize Scrivener for my writing. I know there’s still much more I have to discover and learn about it, but I honestly can say that I can’t wait to do so. Scrivener has changed my life, simplifying elements of my writing that used to be so complex and take up a lot of my precious time. I highly recommend it. Trust me, it’ll save you.

If you’ve had any amazing experiences with Scrivener, or you know of another really cool feature I haven’t talked about, please, share it in the comments sections and help a writer out.

As always, keep writing everyone!

Until next time.

 

Leave a Reply

