Rewriting for NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo is a daunting task. Though I’ve been fortunate and won the past five years I’ve participated, I have also failed to reach the ultimate goal of 50,000 words. I get it, sometimes life just gets in the way or your story doesn’t end up working out the way you originally wanted it to. So since NaNoWriMo is quickly approaching, I thought I’d share a piece of advice on a way to (possibly) make NaNoWriMo a little less painful.

I’ve spoken about rewrites before and why I believe they’re a crucial part of the writing process, but I also believe that it can be helpful for something as intense as NaNo.

Writing 50,000 words in 30 days (even if you’ve done it many times like myself) is terrifying. It works out to 1,667 words per day – a hefty amount, especially if you aren’t used to writing that much consistently. And of course, it’s not just the word count you need to worry about. There’s plot, characters, settings… not to mention the little details all writers have to worry about constantly. Stressed out yet? I know I was in the first couple years participating.

Enter the rewrite. All of a sudden, characters are familiar, settings haven’t changed a ton (if at all). And plot? Yes, it’s the most likely part to change of a rewrite project, but surely you still will keep elements of your previous draft’s plot structure.

The idea of writing 1,667 words every day sounds a little less daunting now, doesn’t it? Without the added stress of a brand new everything, NaNoWriMo isn’t as scary. Yes, it’ll still be hard, probably harder than any other writing project you’ve ever taken on, but it won’t be as difficult. Or at least it shouldn’t be.

So there you have it, some food for thought at least. Just another possibility to make NaNoWriMo a little easier for everyone out there. As always, good luck to all the writers out there participating this year. Keep writing everyone.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

